Camshaft Swap

Custom Classic Trucks
Item Posts    Sort Order

Camshaft Swap

Crabideau Crabideau
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 01/13
Posted: 01/18/13
08:13 PM

I am getting ready to do some upgrades to my engine and had a question that came up.  I was calling a local shop to get an estimate on a camshaft install.  They mentioned that it is not advisable to do a performance camshaft swap unless you do a full engine rebuild at the same time.  They said this is because the rest of the engine may not be able to handle the increased power.  

My question is, is this a bunch of crap to get me to do a entire engine rebuild or is this legit info meant to help me?  Obviously I am posting this because I am a novice to engine work. If it bolts on I can generally do it but once we get to internals I am lost.

Just in case you need the info.  I have a 78 F-150 with a 400. The cam is an Edelbrock performer series cam, I have most of that series either on the engine already or waiting to be installed. Thanks for the help.  

waynep71222 waynep71222
User | Posts: 106 | Joined: 04/12
Posted: 01/19/13
07:55 AM

there is nothing to stop you from just changing the cam and lifters...

do it your self or try a different shop.. some shops cannot see just a cam swap... they only see the whole monte..

you will probably want to think ahead... 3 piece timing chain set.. new oil pump and pan gasket.. perhaps a water pump... if you have not replaced it recently..

there are about half a dozen articles spread out in the around 40 car and truck magazines on this site that cover 400 ford builds...  this will help with the knowledge of how to and what to ***

wait.. why the oil pump.. because i have been there before.. ford used nice lightweight aluminum housing oil pumps...    great beasts.. but the housing wears and flow drops...  engine damage soon to follow...