Custom Classic Trucks
Item Posts    Sort Order

1955 chevy truck 3600 8' bed frame swap

pookie55 pookie55
New User | Posts: 4 | Joined: 12/12
Posted: 12/24/12
10:23 PM

Hi
I'm new to the classic truck forum. I've owned my 1955 Chevy 3600 3/4 ton(second series) truck since 1992. I have always wanted to restore the truck but time and of course money always stood in the way. 20+ years has gone by and the taskforce has sat idol waiting for attention and a new outlook on life. Now in(2012)she is in need of much more repair..I now can start to spend money for well deserved repairs and upgrades, the question is, whats best for the truck? The last time the 55' was driven was in 1995-she broke down just before going to be in a parade. I lost the faith to work on her and the rest is history...So, i'm looking for help from all that is willing to help me with this endever,im hoping to do most of the work myself... The first thing im looking for is the correct frame swap. She has a wheel base of 123.5-the track is somewhat harder to figure,cant seem to find the track width anywere. I've read that a S-10 or a suburban is a good swap but i'd like more Info. from all of u-ins before i start bidding on used trucks. I would like to use the newer drive train & all for the swap. If you care anything about a great looking vehicle from 1955-Please help..Thanks to all for reading my very first post ever and I hope to hear from you soon...John  
focus-focus-focus,or it will never get done pookie55

hotrodace hotrodace
User | Posts: 156 | Joined: 03/11
Posted: 12/25/12
04:49 PM

Hey John,